Reconnection

Of course the games, quizes and funny status updates are entertaining and I fear I check my news feed far too often, but I really depend on Facebook to re-establish and maintain connections with family and friends. We all lead busy lives these days and it’s hard to keep up with the unique parade of friends and family that I’ve accumulated over a lifetime. It’s been a pleasure to reconnect with and get to know my family in Ohio. I love following the adventures of my cousin on the West Coast. I get to live vicariously through our 16-year-old niece’s postings in Mexico and my good friend’s embassy experiences in Venezuela. I can share photos, video & news about our son in one place & people can choose to read/view them…or not. Most importantly, Facebook has given me the opportunity to share something I enjoy with my brother and I’ve found it’s something he enjoys as well. I only see my brother & his wife a few precious times a year. I’ll take any opportunity to stay close.

Now please excuse me while I play Pet Society.

See what the PEW Research Center says about Social Networking: http://pewresearch.org/pubs/1398/internet-mobile-phones-impact-american-social-networks

Categories: Family | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

