Adults can be children

I always knew that I didn’t ever want to grow up. When I was 8 years old I said as much to my mother. I announced that I wanted to stay 8 forever. She assured me that that would change, but I always thought, and still do, that 8 is the perfect age.
But then I started high school; I started to think that it would be a relief to get out of school and become an adult. I thought for sure being adult meant acting like an adult- that the cliques, gossip, and immature behavior in general would stop. In my mind, it wouldn’t matter what clothes you wore or what car you drove. You’d go to work, work hard, have a family, and people would get along. Life would be much simpler, more direct as an adult. As you know, that’s not usually the case.
When you are 8, what you see is what you get. When you are an adult, it’s anyone’s guess. Since I can’t go back to being 8, I guess I’ll just keep waiting for adults to act like adults….

Categories: Reflections | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Adults can be children

  1. Chela

    Man, have you picked up the pace of blogging! I had a lot of reading to catch up on here. It's great to read about what you've been doing and thinking. Keep it up!!!

Leave a Reply

